Phone: (252) 756-2898
Physical Address: 257 Cooper St.
Mailing address: P.O BOX 597.
Winterville, NC 28590.

A Brief History From The Beginning (1988)

During the late 1930’s a number of people living in the Winterville area were active members of Disciples churches in neighboring communities. In May of 1938, Mr. R.E. Boyd made contact with Rev. C.C. Ware, State Secretary of the Disciples Church, and requested that the organization of a Disciples Church be attempted in Winterville. Arrangements were made for the Rev. C.B. Mashburn to hold services in Winterville during the summer of that year.

The Winterville Christian Church was formally organized in the home of Mr. and Mrs. R.L. Abbott, on October 13, 1938, with 25 charter members. Its newly chosen officers were ordained on the second Sunday in November by Rev. Mashburn, who continued to serve as minister until October 31, 1940. In December 1940, Rev. Perry Case became minister and served in this capacity until August 1956. Since that time have been 9 regular and eight interim ministers.

Services were held rent free in the Methodist Church building until a structure was purchased by the new congregation in February 1944. At the same time a building fund was started. During 1948 this building was moved to the back of the lot in order to clear a site for the new church. Construction was begun on May 5, 1951, and the first service was held on Easter Sunday, April 5, 1953. On June 2, 1857 all mortgage notes were burned. In 1960 a parsonage was constructed, and in 1946 the church’s physical plat was expanded with the completion of a new fellowship facility, Ellis Hall.

Through the years the congregation has actively participated in all areas of church life. Sunday School has been held continuously and there have many youth oriented programs such as Bible School, Christian Youth Fellowship, Chi Rho, and Junior Fellowship. A woman’s Council was organized in 1939 with Mrs. Annie Abbott servicing as first president, and the women’s work has continued without interruption sim that time. Early in 1959 the Christian men’s Fellowship was organized. Beyond its local ministry, the church is actively involved in denominational endeavors ranging from a growing commitment to world outreach, to representation at district, state, national and International meetings.

The church continues to grow both spiritually and numerically. Its membership has evolved from a nucleus of life-time Disciples to a church family with diverse religious backgrounds. The Winterville Christian celebrated its fiftieth anniversary in October of 1988. The celebration included the dedication of stained-glass windows in the sanctuary which were installed in 1987 and depict the reasons on the church year. We look back to our heritage with appreciation for those so diligently, and at the same time we anticipate a future of expanding vision and service.

Milestone in Winterville Christian Church History


Rev. C. B. Mashburn (1938-1940)

The church was organized at Mrs. R.L. Abbott’s with 25 members (1938)

Services held in Methodist Church building Woman’s Council formed with “Miss Annie Abbott” as president (1939)

Dr. Perry Case (1940-1958)

First Brotherhood Dinner, fore-runner of Week of Compassion (1941)

Methodist Church building was purchased and building fund begun (1944)

Became self-supporting in 1948. Had been a “mission church,” receiving $60 per year.

CFY organized (c. 1950); participated in district and state activities

Building construction begun (1951) New building completed (1953); first service held on Easter Sunday

Choir organized (1955); robes worn for Easter

First Bible School directed by Faye Gaskins and Lottie Ellis Lighted exterior bulletin board donated by Young Adults (1957)


Dr. Cleveland Bradner, Jr. I (1958 – 1959)

Dr. H. G. Haney I (1959-1960)

Rev. Kenneth A. Moore (1961-1963)

Rev. Elbert Davidson (1953-1964)

Rev. Rupert Philips I (1964-1965)

Rev. Howard James (1965-1967)

Rev. Robert Bohannon I (Unknown)

Christian Men Fellowship [CMF] was organized (1959)

Parsonage construction completed (1960)

Rev. Kenneth Moore’s family first reside in parsonage; he was the first full-time minister

Painting and crafts group begun at Rita’s home


Dr. Vere Rogers I (1968-1972)

Rev. James Bussell, Jr. (1972-1979)

Lottie Ellis and Faye Gaskins elected first women deacons (1975)

First monthly newsletter Winterville Christian printed (1972)

Boy Scout Troop #550 sponsored (1974)

First annual Fall Festival held (1974)

Newsletter renames Winterville Discipliana (1975)

Ellis Hall completed (1976)

Active youth program in place

Painting and Crafts Group began meeting in Ellis Hall

Curb, gutter, and sidewalks installed, and parkin lots paved (1977-1978)


Dr. Raymond Alexander I (1979-1980)

Rev. Thomas Elliott Everton (1980-1983)

Dr. Richard James I (1983-1984)

Dolls dressed for Salvation Army at Christmas (1979)

Carl and John Dunn earned “God and Country” awards under guidance of Tom Everton


Rev. Annell George (1984-1990)

Rev. John Brick I (1990-1991)

Rev. Sandford W. Downs III (1991-1993)

Rev. Dan Hensley I (1993-1994)

Annell George first woman minister in Hookerton District (1984)

Monthly newsletter reviewed and renamed “The Chalice”

Jane Mellon first woman Board Moderator (1987)

Stained glass windows installed (1987)

Fiftieth Anniversary observed (1988); Mary Forlines made and donated Anniversary Banner

Very active youth program; Children’s Moment added to worship

Youth, with help of Mary Forlines, made first set of liturgical Banners

Annell Took Nancy Dunn, Christian Stewart, and Kim Worthington to General Assembly in Indianapolis (1989)

Delegations attended Regional Assembly annually

First Week of compassion offerings to exceed $1,000.00

Communion moved to end of service; Chalice and loaf brought forth

Significant controversy over remodeling of sanctuary

First women elders

Church sponsored a men’s softball team

Sent 19 youth to summers camp (1993)

Mary and Pannie Forlines, Nancy Dunn, and Christina Stewart attended General Assembly (1993)


Rev. Annell G. McLawhorn I (8/1994-10/1994)

Rev. Sandra Messick (1994-6/1996)

Rev. James Bussell, Jr. I (1996-1998)

Dr. J. David Griffin (1998-2008)

Rev. Jerry Shavers I (2008-2010)

Mary and Pannie Forlines attended General Assembly (1993)

New Organ purchased (1995)

50th anniversary Sign made Pannie and painted by MM.

Ellis Hall renovated (1996)

Bible School directed by Nancy and Carl Dunn

Nancy Dunn Youth Representative to Planning Committee of General Assembly (1997)

Mary and Pannie Forlines attended General Assembly (1997)

New type Handbook and Directory presented to church

Communion by intinction begun

Vital youth program with Kim Joyner adult leader (2000-2003)

Church’s website established

Weekly food donations through “Share” program

Nancy Dunn ordained as first minister from our congregation. (June 2001)

Mary and Pannie Forlines attended General Assembly (2001)

Church split because of social issues (2001)

Julia Keville directed after school tutoring program for 4th & 5th graders (2002-2003 school year)

Chris Helton ordained as minister from our congregation (May 2003)

Prayer Garden established on East side of Church (2008) in memory of Dr. Griffin’s mothers, Ms. Pauline Griffin.

Eastern Caroline Counseling Center Inc. was established in Greenville in 2000. Dr. Griffin was significant in helping this need to our area and Dr. Griffin was the center’s first board chairman, and stated that the board functions with a biblical philosophy that “God will provide.”

Kitchen renovated and renamed Burt Worthington Kitchen (2009)

Columbarium constructed on West side of Church (2010)

2011 -

Rev. Anthony Westbrook (2011- )

Labyrinth constructed in memory of Annell McLawhorn’s father, Albert George (2012)